Meeting of the

FCC Region 19

700 MHz Technical Advisory Committee

Tuesday, June 8, 2004

Municipal Center

Grove Street

Brattleboro, Vermont 05301


The meeting was called to order by the Chairman at 10:15 AM


Present Mr. Pohorilak, Chairman, Mr. Zarwanski, Vice Chairman, Mr. Warakois, Secretary.

All members present were asked to sign attendance roster.


The Chairman made note of a letter from Major Frederick Booth requesting that Mr. Tom Bardwell be made a member of the committee representing the New Hampshire State Police.  The letter is accepted and Mr. Bardwell is now a member of the Committee.



Previous Minutes

The Chairman presented the minutes of the previous meeting.  MOVED to ACCEPT as presented and SECONDED.   There was no discussion.  The minutes were APPROVED by voice vote.





The statewide group on interoperability is waiting for an initiative to come from the Governors office.  A document has been forwarded to the Governors office identifying the initiative and formally recognizing the statewide interoperability committee. Distribution of 800 MHz equipment continues for use on the common interoperability channels.  Various documents have been created.



Preparations for the political convention in Boston in August are occupying most of the effort at this time.


Rhode Island

Mr. Crotty reports that a core group on interoperability is close to being identified.


New Hampshire

Mr. Kowalik reports that there are several avenues being explored for an interoperability group.  There is a continuing project for State Emergency Management Center in Concord, NH.




No report.



Ms. Bean states that the State Police equipment is being installed for UHF interoperability throughout the State.



Mr. Eirman reported that the NCC completed its work in July 2003.  The final report has been issued to the FCC.  A final action by the FCC has not been made.  It could appear as an FCC NPRM (Notice of Proposed Rule Making.


NPSTC is evolving into a follow-on committee.  Mr. Carbonell will be attending a meeting in Washington as an AASHTO representative.  One of the items to be discussed will be interoperability.



Mr. Kowalik states there is no activity at this time.  He has been referring inquirers to the CAPRAD web-site.   Mr. Zarwanski noted that he has had difficulty accessing the CAPRAD website.



The Chairman presented an update of the activities leading to the final presentation of the plan to the Committee.  He made special note of the efforts of Bette Reinhardt in the final extensive review of the document.


Mr. Derdak presented a list of items to be changed in the current draft.  He made note of the changes in the FCC Rules regarding low power output levels on the VHF and UHF bands. He suggests that the same power levels be adopted for 700 MHz.  After extensive discussion it was determined that the language of the FCC regulations limits the power only on the lower frequencies noted.  The original language of the plan will prevail.


Other changes noted by Mr. Derdak being administrative in nature:

Part 1, Sec.10 (page 3).

The chief elected official_? be changed to _?The chief elected official or, in an entity without such a person, the legally responsible person of the organization submitting the application_?


The change was MOVED by Mr. Warakois, SECONDED by Mr. Carbonell VOTED and accepted by a voice vote of the Committee.


The Chairman called for further discussion and changes.







The Chairman called for a motion to accept the plan as corrected.


MOVED by Mr. Leary, SECONDED by Mr. Carbonnell, to adopt the Region 19 Plan.


It was voted UNANAMOUSLY by show of hands to ADOPT THE REGION 19, 700 MHz PLAN.


The Chairman noted that adjacent Region 8 and 30 would receive the plan for their consideration and approval.


The Chairman thanked the members of the committee for its diligent work.

He noted that there would be an effort to have the adjacent regions act upon accepting this plan within 60 days.  He states that the FCC is optimistic that those regions will act swiftly.


The members of the committee discussed when the migration of TV Broadcasters may occur off of the 700 MHz bands.


The meeting was adjourned at 12:13 p.m.



Respectfully submitted,

James Warakois, Secretary



























Meeting of the

FCC Region 19

4.9 GHz Technical Advisory Committee

Tuesday, June 8, 2004

Municipal Center

Grove Street

Brattleboro, Vermont 05301


The meeting was called to order by the Chairman at 12:20 P.M.


Present Mr. Pohorilak, Chairman, Mr. Zarwanski, Vice Chairman and Mr. Warakois, Secretary. All members present were asked to sign attendance roster.





The Chairman introduced Mr. David Eirman, of Motorola, Inc.


Mr. Eirman gave a 15 minute ?Power Point? presentation highlighting the current status of the newly defined 4.9 GHz, Public Safety Band.  He referred to the current requirements of 47 CFR 90.1209. The speaker also noted other sources of activity toward defining the use of the band and the current participants. Mr. Eirman noted that the number of applications of technologies is growing as various applications and schemes are developed. He listed a number of applications to be considered. He further discussed the issues involved with regional planning. The main issue is that the spectrum is shared, by definition by all licensees.


A question and answer session followed.


The meeting was adjourned at 1:18 PM.


The next meeting of the FCC Region 19, Technical Advisory Committee will be held on September 14, 2004 at the Kittery Municipal Complex, Kittery, Maine 


Respectfully submitted,

James Warakois, Secretary













NATIONAL REGIONAL PLAN TEMPLATE, An outline for regional plans utilizing public safety 4940-4990 MHz., National Public Safety Telecommunications Council, (NPSTC), pages 35-46.

PUBLIC SAFETY ? 4,9 GHz Summary Notes, APCO, R. Haraseth.

SAFECOM Grant Guidance, Office for Domestic Preparedness (ODP), U.S Department of Homeland Security, ODP INFORMATION BULLETIN No. 113, May 27, 2004, C. Suzanne Mencer, Director.

Letter, Dear Regional Planning Committee Chair: National Public Safety Telecommunications Council, (NPSTC), John S. Powell, (Chair Interoperability Subcommittee).

Emission Masks, 4940-4990 MHz, 47 CFR 90.210, Federal Communications Commission, 2004.

47 CFR 90 Subpart Y ? Regulations Governing Licensing and Use of Frequencies in the 4940 ? 4990 MHz Band: 90.1201, Scope; 90.1207, Licensing. 90.1209, Policies governing the use of the 4940 ? 4990 MHz band; 90.1211, Regional Plan., Federal Communications Commission, 2004.